WRX Suspension Upgrade. What to do?

Discuss all things auto related.
elyblue
Car: 2011 Subaru WRX
CDC Member#: 637

WRX Suspension Upgrade. What to do?

Post by elyblue »

Hello everyone,

I am a novice to Solo II, as well as car tuning, and am looking to run my 2011 WRX Hatch. After reading the novice guides from CDC and SCCA, what came to mind was, "Stop with the engine upgrades and focus on car control, road surface grip, and drive train response." Starting with car control, I have been doing research on the various pieces to a car's suspension and am wondering were a novice should start. So far I have been looking at strut bars and sway bars. Anyone have pointers on were to start with the second most complex system to a car (IMHO)? I state this because I know suspension is not just bolting parts on and calling it a day. There is camber, ride hight, and toe adjustments involved in maximizing grip to the race surface. I have limited garage space and lack a car lift.

I appreciate any advice and reference documentation on the subject.
JG
Why blame the car?
konkilr
Car: 1995 SUXASS LRXTi
CDC Member#: 19

Re: WRX Suspension Upgrade. What to do?

Post by konkilr »

I wouldn't worry over mods yet. Learn to drive first. The car is fine stock, even the tires it comes with are great! Myself and a few friends run a car just like yours in stock class. It is a very formidable car. Granted we went to the limit of stock class.

But if you have to sway bars and shocks are a good place to start.

jake
Raceday strategy: Start slow, then back off.
eage8
Car: 89 RX7 TII 89 Corolla SR5
CDC Member#: 887

Post by eage8 »

great source of suspension tuning info:

http://farnorthracing.com/autocross_secrets.html

But I do agree with Jake, it's very easy to just throw money at your car instead of working on the most important part which is the driver. I would recommend if you haven't already spending the money first on going to a few autocross schools.
-Mike #887